Places in the Deanery of Frome

(Diocese of Bath and Wells), 1445


Kindly transcribed by Sarah Lowther from the Frome Society for Local Studies slip index of a taxation list published in Somerset Record Society, XLIX, 1934.


Register of Thomas BEKYNTON, part i, no. 108, p. 30-1


Beneficed clergy were to pay 1d in the mark (13s 4d), 29 April 1445, as follows:


Frome, 2s 11d

Frome (vicarage), 11 1/2d

Babington (Babyngton), 6d

Beckington (Bekynton), 17 1/2d

Berkley (Berkeley) chapel, 6d

Binegar (Benanger), 8 1/2d

Buckland Dinham (Bokelond Denham) vicarage, 8d

Cameley, 10d

Camerton (Camelerton), 18d

Chewton Mendip (Chewton), 2s 8d

Chewton Mendip vicarage, 12d

Chewton Mendip pension of St Andrew, Wells, 3s 1d

Chewton Mendip pension of Prior of Haylyng, 5d

Cloford (Clofford), 9 1/2d

Cloford vicarage, 2 1/2d

Combe Hay (Comb Hawey), 6 1/4d

Dunkerton, 12d

Egforton (Ekforton), 1d (alias Fairoak, united with Berkley in 1460)

Elm (Elme), 6d

Farleigh Hungerford (Farley), 9d

Foxcote, 7 1/2d

Hardington (Hardyngton), 4d

Hemington (Hemyngton), 19d

Hinton Charterhouse (Henton), 14d

Hinton Charterhouse vicarage, 6d

Hinton Charterhouse Prior of, 6s 4 1/2d

Holcombe (Holcomb), 4d

Kilmersdon (Kynmersdon) vicarage, 6d

Laverton, 15d

Lullington (Lullyngton), 9d

Maiden Bradley (Bradeley), prior of, 2 1/2d

Marston Bigot (Mersshton), 6 1/2d

Mells (Mellys), 2s 10 1/2d

Midsomer Norton (Norton Comitis), 15d

Norton St. Philip (N. Canonicorum), 2s 7 1/2d

Norton St. Philip vicarage, 8d

Nunney (Nony), 17d

Orchardleigh (Orchardlegh), 9d

Radstock (Radesoke), 13d

Radstock pension of the Prior of Bath, 4d

Road (Rode), 7d

Rodden (Roddon), 6d

Standerwick (Standerwyk), 6d

Stoneaston (Eston Minor), 6 1/4d

Stratton-on-the-Fosse (Stratton), 9d

Tellisford (Thelysford), 8d

Wanstrow (Wandestre), 10d

Wellow (Welowe), 3s

Wellow vicarage, 13d

Whatley (Watley), 15d

Woolverton (Wolfrington), 6 1/2d

Writhlington (Wrethelyngton), 8d